The journal Foreign Language Learning and Teaching Research (FLLTR), also known as Études en Didactique des Langues (EDL), is a thematic bi-yearly internationally peer-reviewed journal, proposing articles in French and English. It strives to mirror cutting-edge university research in foreign and second language didactics. Although it privileges themes related to higher education (notably in the field of Languages for Specific Purposes), it remains none the less open to pertinent contributions related to other educational levels. EDL is particularly oriented towards issues susceptible to enrich theoretical debate, while accepting a diversity of approaches and methodologies. One of its ambitions is to convey research to practitioners of language teaching, thus its focus on field studies such as action research, development-oriented research, and innovative pedagogical practices. FLLTR is indexed in ERIH PLUS, HAL, Mir@bel, Sign@l, and WorldCat.

See Calls for papers

A purchase order is available here.


Past issues of FLLTR (ISSN 2258-1510)

N° 36 - Error (2021)

N° 35 - Travels, journeys and pathways (2020)

N° 34 - Transmission and vectors (2020)

N° 33 - Evaluation (2019)

N° 32 - Learning a language: desire and resistance (2019)

N° 31 - Corpora (2018)

N° 30 - From theory to practice (2018)

N° 29 - Focus on the teacher (2017)

N° 28 - Representations & stereotypes (2017)

N° 27 - New ways / New voices (2016)

N° 26 - Writing (TESOL & FFL) (2015)

N° 25 -   Humour (2015)

N° 23-24 - Affect(s) (2014)

N° 22 - Control vs. autonomy (2013)

N° 21 - Crossovers (2013)

N° 20 - What grammar for ESOL? (2012)

N° 19 - Questions of speaking and listening (2012)

N° 18 - The notion of space in language teaching & leanrning (2011)


Past issues of Les Après-midi de LAIRDIL (ISSN 1257-1520)

Les Après-midi de LAIRDIL, from n° 1 to 17,  precede EDL. N° 1 to 10 can be downloaded (full text) but paper copies are still available (except n° 3 and 8). Tables of contents can be downloaded for n° 11 to 18 and paper or pdf copies can be ordered.

N° 17 - Didactique des langues, didactique des sciences

N° 16 - Le genre et/ou le jeu

N° 15 - EMILE: l’enseignement d’une matière intégré à une langue étrangère

N° 14 - Le suivi des apprenant/es par les systèmes numériques

N° 13 - La communication interculturelle

N° 12 - Stratégies d’apprentissage

N° 11 - L’interaction orale

N° 10 - La pratique didactique du multimédia

N° 9 - La culture

N° 8 - Questions d’articles: l’article scientifique

N° 7 - Spécial recherche

N° 6 - Ten Top Principles in the Design of Vocabulary Materials

N° 5 - Maximizing the Value of Jigsaw Activities

N° 4 - Aspects of Fluency and Accuracy

N° 3 - Film, TV and Videotapes in EFL

N° 2 - Autonomous Learning of Vocabulary Through Extensive Reading

N° 1 - The Problems of Oral Testing. What Did you Say?


Executive Board

Directrice de publication / Chief editor: Nicole Décuré (Professeure émérite - Toulouse 3)

Comité de rédaction / Executive board: Claire Chaplier (MCF HDR - Toulouse 3), Karine Duvignau (Professeure - Toulouse 2), Pierre Frath (Professeur émérite - Université de Reims), Laura M. Hartwell (Professeure - Université Toulouse 1), Dominique Macaire (Professeure - Université de Lorraine), Jean-Paul Narcy-Combes (Professeur émérite - Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3).

Comité scientifique / Scientific committee

The scientific committee offers suggests for themes, call for papers, and supports the journal. Permanent members, in collaboration with the Excutive Board, validate submitted manuscripts, notably their scientific qualities, their orginality, and their readability.

David Banks (Université de Brest), Khadoudja Belkhenchir (Université Oran - Es Sénia, Algérie), Jean-Claude Bertin (Université du Havre), Marie-Christine Deyrich (Université de Bordeaux), Carmen Fonseca (Université de Huelva, Espagne), Pierre Frath (Université de Reims), Oksana Gavrilyuk (Université de Krasnoïark, Russsie), Hélène Knoerr (Université d’Ottawa, Canada), Jean-Rémi Lapaire (Université de Bordeaux), Lutz Küester (Allemagne), Marie-Françoise Narcy-Combes (Université de Nantes), Jean-Paul Narcy-Combes (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3), Sylvie Ngilla McGraw (San Diego University), Christian Puren (Université de Saint-Etienne), Françoise Raby (Université de Toulouse), Claire Tardieu Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3), Annalisa Zanola ((Université de Brescia, Italie), Bin Zou (Université Xi'an Jiaotong, Chine - Liverpool University, GB).

Reviewers (non-exhaustive list, susceptible to modification)

Joëlle Aden (Université du Mans), David Banks (Université de Brest), Séverine Behra (Université de Lorraine), Khadoudja Belkhenchir (Université Es Sénia, Oran, Algérie), Jean-Claude Bertin (Université du Havre), Susan Birch (Université de Bordeaux), Françoise Bonnet (Université de Bordeaux), Michèle Catroux (Université de Bordeaux), Cristelle Cavalla (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3 ), Ray Cooke (Université de Bordeaux), Elisabeth Crosnier (Université Toulouse 3), Rebecca Dahm (Espé - Toulouse 2), Marie-Christine Deyrich (Université de Bordeaux), Fryni Doa (Université de Chypre), Chantal Dompmartin (Université Toulouse 2), Karine Duvignau (Espé - Toulouse 2), Carmen Fonseca (Université de Huelva, Espagne), Corinne François-Denève (Université de Bourgogne), Pierre Frath (Université de Reims), Marie-Hélène Fries (Université Grenoble Alpes), Dan Frost (Université Grenoble Alpes), Emmanuelle Garnier (Université Toukouse 2), Oksana Gavriluk (Université de Krasnoïark, Russsie), Claudie Gourg (Université de Guyane), Marina Haan (Université Toulouse 3),, Laura Hartwell (Université Toulouse 1 Capitole), Hélène Knoerr (Université d’Ottawa, Canada), Lutz Küester (Université Humboldt, Berlin, Allemagne), Férida Lakhdar Barka (Université Oran - Es Sénia, Algérie), Nicole Lancereau-Forster (Université Toulouse 3), Jean-Rémi Lapaire (Université de Bordeaux), Catherine Lisak (Université de Bordeaux), Dominique Macaire (Université de Lorraine), Josiane Martinez (Université Toulouse 2), Jean-Paul Narcy-Combes (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3 ), Marie-Françoise Narcy-Combes (Université de Nantes), Nicole Ollier (Université de Bordeaux), Christian Puren (Université de Saint-Etienne), Françoise Raby (Université Toulouse 3), Jean-Jacques Richer (Université de Bourgogne), Annick Rivens-Monpean (Université Lille 3), Yvon Rolland (Université de La Réunion), Cédric Sarré (Espé de Paris), Claire Tardieu (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3), Samiha Tighilet (Université de Bejaia, Algérie), Denyze Toffoli (Université Toulouse 3), Michel Van Der Yeught (Université d'Aix-Marseille), Dominique Vinet (Université de Bordeaux), Anne-Marie-Voise (Université de Paris Est Créteil), Melanie White (Université de Bordeaux), Nadia Yassine-Diab (Université Toulouse 3), Annalisa Zanola (Université de Brescia, Italie).